EKN Platinum Forum - Russell
KartSport North America - LB
HOME - NEWS - FEATURES - DRIVERS - PR WIRE - FORUMS - MULTIMEDIA - PHOTOS - SCHEDULES - RESULTS - LINKS - INTERNATIONAL NEWS - NEW TO KARTING - CONTACT

Streeter - SS


Extreme Karting




3G Kart Racing


OTP - Button


Fastech Racing


Go Racing Magazine - Button

DRT Racing - FB
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Login to check your private messagesLogin to check your private messages   LoginLogin 
Internet Scam Alert

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    eKartingNews.com Forum Index -> General Karting Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Sean Robbins



Joined: 23 Aug 2001
Posts: 474
Location: United States, Alaska, Anchorage

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2001 8:51 am    Post subject: Internet Scam Alert Reply with quote

Although this is not exactly karting related, I think that the lead may have come from participation in online karting forums such as this, so I wanted to alert others to be on the look-out for it.

Today I received a fax from a company called INTERNET SUPPORT SERVICES "alerting" me that someone else was trying to register a domain name similar to mine (.net and .org instead of my .com), and instructing me to call them to either concur or oppose this new registration. When I did, they would not tell me who was trying to do this, but offered to register those variants of my name for me (naturally, for a fee). At this point my bull**** detectors started going off, so I said that I would get back to them.

I did some searching on the web and came across www.internetsupportservice.com (note--there is no "S" on the end of service), where there is a warning about this scam.

Those of you with your own domain names might want to be on the lookout for this.

We will now return to your racing program, already in progress...

[ September 21, 2001: Message edited by: Sean Robbins ]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony Gaylord



Joined: 17 Jul 2001
Posts: 741
Location: United States, Washington, Vancouver

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2001 6:31 pm    Post subject: Internet Scam Alert Reply with quote

Actually, theres no harm done there. The .COM is the preffered as we all know and most sought after. I ran my own business (EnclosureConcepts.com) where I made custom made high-end home/car subwoofer enclosures. If someone wanted to startup EnclosureConcepts.NET they could have, the point is that yes its the same name but it WILL direct you to the other parties site. Kinda edgy I know but thats the interntet for ya. Actually, LOOK what Microsoft has done, they bought Micro$oft.COM AND Microsoft.NET Turkeys

Later man, keep the kart 4 wheels down-

*TG*
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Roy Randolph



Joined: 29 Jul 2001
Posts: 225
Location: United States, Texas, Cypress

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2001 8:03 pm    Post subject: Internet Scam Alert Reply with quote

If anyone wants to find out who owns a domain just go to www.networksolutions.com and then click on "who-is" link type in the domain (do NOT use www) and you will find out who owns a domain.

If you own a business and are concerned about someone else using your domain, I would suggest registering your domain as a .com, .net, .org. It isn't that expensive and not a bad idea to protect your name. And yes you can have ALL your domains point to your web site.

A good example of this is Kartrways of Arkansas. Kartways web site site is www.kartways.com now try using www.kartways.net and www.kartways.org you will see they all point to the same site.

Good Racing!

[ September 21, 2001: Message edited by: Roy Randolph ]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Sean Robbins



Joined: 23 Aug 2001
Posts: 474
Location: United States, Alaska, Anchorage

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2001 5:44 am    Post subject: Internet Scam Alert Reply with quote

Thanks for your responses. True, domain name owners are a matter of public record, and you can register as many variants of your url as you want. However, the point I was trying to make was that

NORMALLY DOMAIN NAME REGISTRARS DO NOT "WARN" YOU THAT SOMEONE IS TRYING TO REGISTER A SIMILAR NAME AND GIVE YOU SEVERAL DAYS TO BUY UP THE NAME YOURSELF.

That was the first clue that something a little bizarre is going on here. Whether this is an outright scam (they would take my money and not even bother to register the name or overcharge my card) or just very aggressive marketing by someone looking to churn up more domain registration remains to be seen, but the sense of urgency they tried to portray in their fax was purely contrived.

Unfortunately, there can be literally dozens of domain names you might want to snap up to protect your brand name, if you want to take it to extreme. Let's say that you are www.acmekartshop.com (which, when I wrote this posting, did not exist). Do you want to then go out and also register the .net, .org, .biz, and the whole slew of country suffixes? What about www.acme-kart-shop.com, www.acmekartshopsucks.com or www.ihateacmekartshop.com, etc. Where do you draw the line and say enough is enough?

I'm not trying to beat a dead horse here, as this topic is not entirely karting related, just warn others to be wary if they get a similar solicitation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    eKartingNews.com Forum Index -> General Karting Discussion All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Go Top
Copyright © 2002 - 2013 Ekartingnews.com. All Rights Reserved.       Maintained by Holbi LLP
DB time: 0.274829 (59.4%), total time:0.462643, queries:38